Is your Pennsylvania Vehicle Safety Sticker about to expire? As a licensed PennDot Inspection Facility, we can perform the inspection and any needed repairs. Send us a message to schedule your 2022 PA safety inspection and sticker renewal, and we will get you scheduled.
The state of Pennsylvania requires annual vehicle safety inspections to ensure that your vehicles are maintained and safe to operate. Safety Inspections can prevent vehicle failure on the highways and crashes that may result in injuries or death. Vehicle safety inspections are performed at official PennDOT Inspection Stations, like Autotexs Collision And Auto Repair, in Canadensis, PA.
Inspection costs can vary from testing station to testing station. Currently, we charge $23 for car inspections, $26 for truck inspections. The cost of the official sticker is $9 if your vehicle passes inspection. If your car or truck does not pass inspection, we can perform the needed repairs here. Keep in mind that the cost of the inspection does not include the cost of repairs. You can have the repairs done at any licensed and approved auto repair shop, but you will have to take the vehicle back to the original testing site to be retested and certified that the required repairs have been made. For this reason, we recommend not waiting till the last day to get your inspection done. You want to allow adequate time for the inspection as well as any needed repairs. Especially if you suspect your vehicle may not pass the inspection.
You can get vehicle safety inspections at any official PennDOT Inspection Stations. These are usually licensed auto repair shops like ours here at Autotexs Collision and Auto Repair in Canadensis, PA. For more information, you can visit the PenDott Official Website here
No. Your Vehicle safety inspection sticker will still have the same expiration month for the next year. Getting your inspection done early is a good idea and recommended if you feel like your vehicle may not pass the required inspections. this allows time for the required repairs to be completed before your sticker expires.
Yes. And, we recommend you should. Especially if your check engine light is on or you suspect your vehicle may fail the test. You should allow enough time for any repairs to be made to bring your vehicle into inspection compliance. You can get your inspection done up to 90 days before the final deadline. You can get it done any time not only in the calendar month in which it is due, but also in the two calendar months prior. So if your vehicle is due for inspection in August, you can get it done as early as June.
You should allow at least 20-30mins. Emissions for cars, trucks, and SUVs that are 1996 and newer will have an OBD2 test scan performed.
Yes, but you should not wait. To avoid a fine, the inspection sticker should not be allowed to expire. If the vehicle owner is out of state for more than 30 days from the expiration of the inspection sticker, an extra 10-day grace period. Be prepared to prove you meet the requirements for the grace period to avoid the fine.
Yes. Licensed inspection stations, like Autotexs Collision and Auto Repair, can order inspection stickers online. If you would like to order your sticker you can contact us directly.
All cars and light-duty trucks require that the following items be checked for safety: suspension components, steering, braking systems, tires and wheels, lighting and electrical systems, glazing (glass), mirrors, windshield washer, defroster, wipers, fuel systems, the speedometer, the odometer, are a few of the components that are checked during this comprehensive safety inspection.
Your vehicle will fail an inspection if your lights, including headlights, taillights, turn signals, and running lights are not working. Your vehicle body and chassis need to be free of safety defects and damage. All doors and latches must be in good condition to pass inspection. If you have questions just give us a call
In a word, No. If your check engine light is illuminated, it will fail the emission inspection. A diagnostic and repair must be performed, and the light must be reset before your car will pass the emission inspection.
The Police can stop you and write you a ticket if you drive your vehicle without it. Failure to complete a state-mandated safety inspection in Pennsylvania will result in a $500 fine for noncompliance. (Ouch)
All gas-powered cars, vans, and light trucks registered in Pennsylvania for the model year 1975 and newer must be tested annually. This requirement started in 2011; since then, less than 4 percent of all vehicles failed the test, proving the inspection process is doing what is intended. Keep our cars and roads safer. Surprisingly, half of the failing cars are under eight years old
When you last had your car or truck inspected, you received a sticker showing that your vehicle had passed the required inspection. Your sticker will have a month and year visible on your sticker. You have until the last day of that month and year to get your inspection and sticker renewed to remain legal to operate that vehicle. There is a ten-day grace period after the expiration date. Still, you can only drive the car during that time if you can prove you have an appointment at a licensed PennDot inspection station and you are driving to that appointment.
While we recommend you schedule an appointment for your vehicle safety inspection you can also come to the shop.
3182 Old Canadensis Hill Road, Canadensis, Pennsylvania 18325, United States
09:00 am – 06:00 pm